January 18, 2013

  • Irrational Fear

    Is it normal for a grown woman to be afraid of things?  I always thought that when you got older, you lost some of the silly, more irrational fears from your childhood.  Like being afraid of the dark, or being afraid of people you don’t know, or being afraid of forgetting your lunch money or missing the bus.  Being afraid of bullies or fearing that you’re too small for an activity.

    It doesn’t work that way, though, does it?  Or maybe I’m just not normal.  ((Hey, like that would be revelation of the century.))  I’m in my late 30s, mother to five children, kissing away their tears and holding them when they’re afraid, and I’m not any braver, it seems, than they are.  Why is that?  Did I just never catch the grown-up bus?

    I’m not afraid of the dark, anymore.  But there’s a totally different explanation for that one:  I moved out of my mother’s house.  When I was little (it started when I was about seven), I became terrified of her house.  And it wasn’t just THE house – remember, I grew up military, we moved around a lot.  It was EVERY house… until I moved out on my own.  And then that repressive, dark, horrible… whatever it was no longer oppressing me.  And it was then that I realized that something had been there and it was attached to her, and by removing myself from her I didn’t have that to contend with, anymore.  ((Ironically, about three months ago my mom told me that one of my sister’s triplets is now terrified of being in any room of their house alone, and refuses to go upstairs.  She’s seven years old, I should add.  And I remember being the same way – RUNNING to keep in the same room as other people, and pretending I was just being silly and playing, when I was actually terrified out of my mind.  I feel for that child… she has over a decade of that go to through, living with Grams…))

      But I don’t mean that, I mean the other things.  And maybe it’s not just me, because now that I think of it, I’m pretty sure that’s why most people are so set into patterns and routines.  Because the familiar is safe, it’s comfortable.  Seeing the same faces means never having to speak to that stranger.  No chance of rejection or censure or anything discomforting.  Going to the same familiar haunts means that you know what will happen, will recognize the smells, colors, sounds…  We seem to find a place and nestle down, and never look past that nest.  What about what’s just outside?  I mean, it’s not like we have to travel to Portugal to see the world… the world is just outside of our doorsteps… things we have never seen can be 500 feet up the same road as we live on.

    Or am I just weird, because I want NOT to be that way, and what I’m actually afraid of is ending up… rote?  So nestled in that I don’t notice, anymore.  I find myself wondering what it would be like NOT to live in Michigan, for example.  What about the West Virginia hills, or the northeast corner of Montana, or on the craggy coast of Maine?  Or what about thinking REALLY outside of the box, and consider a city, like Pittsburg, New Orleans or Brooklyn?  Talk about out of character for the little blonde homesteader nestled in the woods!  But I think about these things.  Maybe because I haven’t tried it, it’s a sign that I’m stuck.  And worse, maybe I’m afraid of becoming stuck.  And being afraid of becoming stuck may be a sign that I’m unable to commit to a place/thing/particular way.

    I tried to deal with it last year.  I slated us to take an ‘adventure’ every weekend of the year.  Nothing big, like leaving the state, but just little hikes, visits, day trips, festivals.  It didn’t work every weekend, factoring in life, but we did manage to have a lot of them.  And even so, even after going here and trying that and seeing this… I still feel tiny and uncertain.  Even after stretching some toes outside the nest, I feel like I’ve done so little and know even less.  I feel like I’ve tried nothing at all.  And y’know, that feeling is frightening to me, too.  Because what does that mean?  Does it mean that I’m insatiable?  Or does it mean I haven’t reached the right things, yet?  Does it mean I’m trying to do something I shouldn’t be doing at all?  Sit down, shut up, and be good, Anna?

    S omeone once said that a person should never be content, because it means you’ve stopped reaching and growing.  I took it that contentedness equated to complacency, and that it was a bad thing.  But then there was that preacher who scathingly told me that as a prophet, I would never be content until I got to Heaven… like lacking contentment was a bad thing and I was going to be a pain in the ass of everyone I meet for the rest of my life.  Well, I mostly avoid people, so that hasn’t come to pass so much… although I’ll admit (and this post attests to the fact) that I am often a pain in my own ass, anyhow.

    I don’t know what I’m getting at.  It’s probably the long week of fevers and sickness, being cooped up in the house eight days straight.  Maybe it’s just the stark trees and rotting piles of leaves exposed now that the snow is gone getting to me.  It could be mid-winter blahs, come early.  But… I just have this strange, unsettled feeling, and it’s been growing and choking me up… and I don’t like that it smacks of those old familiar feelings of uncertainty that I had as a child.  I wanted to conquer those.  I wanted to build safeguards and learn counter-attacks and to be stronger and more capable… and I don’t feel like I’m anywhere near that.

    I wonder if we ever really overcome that.

Comments (10)

  • I am still afraid of things. Not just change – I think that’s normal, but…..I don’t like being alone at night. I don’t like being “lost” (which, to explore new areas, you HAVE to get lost!)…..stuff like that. (And crowds. I HATE crowds!)

    And I don’t agree about “never be content”. I AM content where I am, but I also want to keep growing and reaching for Yah.dis-contentment, for me, is a quick trip to crazy-town (but YMMV, of course.)

  • You know, it’s normal to be afraid. It’s in our nature. Our innate desire to *know* what is unknown/avoid the unknown. To some degree that’s what faith is also about. To fly in the face of the unknown, to step out against fear. At the same time… when you look at the Word, all the prophets and apostles had to encounter moments of fear…moments of wandering and plenty of moments when they weren’t content.

    I am fearful of flying, fearful of bridges, fearful of drowning… Every time I need to fly my stomach is in knots and I go through shaking panic attacks. But I still do it…hating it all the way.

    Do you want to go out and see things beyond Michigan? There’s certainly nothing wrong with that. Perhaps it’s something you’re being prompted to do.. but at the same time… it’s also normal to be afraid of becoming ‘stuck’. It’s one of those ”what ifs” fears. You can’t get too wrapped up in it, because it will turn crippling, and won’t help growth.. or sanity for that matter.

  • Scripture says fear is not of the Lord. So while in our nature, it’s not something we should ever accept. I think that’s what my post is actually about. Rebelling against all of the things that I’m afraid of.

  • Everyone has fears. Most people just lie or won’t admit to it.

    I was the same way in my house growing up – terrified of being alone and of the dark. My Dad’s mom was a witch, and her mother before her and I don’t know how many generations back. My dad was an only child and I was his only child, so that put me as the next female in line.

    Sometimes there really is something in the darkness worthy of fear.

  • …But just as you state, we are NOT supposed to fear it.

  • This reminds me of an old quote, ‘Fear is the darkroom where negatives are developed.’ Sounds like you need a good ol fashioned road trip!!!! :yes:

    That sucks that one of the triplets has the same fear you had as a child. Maybe you could talk to her about it, and give her a little hope that whatever it is, it’s something you’ve survived, and that might help her get through it too.

  • If I may ask a personal question (it does relate to your post)…you mention many times about avoiding people.  Is this a fear of some sort?  Or just a preference?   I constantly read about how people are designed to interact with other people, how we need this.  It gives us a sense of community & relationship, belonging & acceptance.  And how this is especially important for women to interact with other women b/c men don’t provide enough conversation due to their nature lol.   I’m not suggesting that just b/c I read it, that it’s necessarily true.  Just wondering about your thoughts on this.

  • Hi Anna,

    I am 79 and have reflected lately on my life and how it turned out the way it did–mostly good thanks to the Lord.

    I started out not trusting girls and women at a very early age. I know why–mom’s abuse, being betrayed by a girl named Sue in grade school, and a bunch of girls who treated me sadistically in grade school.

    During my career in management, I did will with the fine gals working for me, but my door was never closed when they were in my office and the drapes always pulled open. I also to my secretary to come in anytime. I never went to lunch with a gal alone. I was 74 before I sort of got over that. I did trust one gal and married her 57 years ago.

    I learned to be sneaky as a kid. I still sort of beat around the bush when trying to get something that I want. I sometimes drive my wife and single daughter nuts because they want a straight out answer to what ‘I’ want. That is very hard for me to do.

    Those are my two quirks. I had others like people pleasing and passivity, but that is a little better.

    Your fears are yours and we all have something. I have found that God can work around my fears to get done what He wants.

    frank

  • Ah. Carmen. Good question. My preference is NOT to have to interact with human beings. Now that’s not to say I don’t – I’m here, every single day. I’m all the heck over FB (you’re probably sick of my stuff there, too). I participate in singing groups, take my kids to dance and interact with the littles and moms there, have done theatre for fifteen years, serving on the board and more. Church pianist three times, Bible studies… but I don’t like people. I really don’t. They don’t get it, don’t get me, think I’m insane, and it’s just better NOT to have to go thru the same things over and over again.

    Tozer explains it far better than me:
    http://anna.xanga.com/61345603/item/

  • I think you are right on track for your age. Reaching 40 does something to you. Almost a panic sets in. Reflections of where you were, where you are and where you want to go when about 1/2 your life is over.

    It kinda sucks-but makes sense.

    For me? I am afraid to not make enough to leave behind-to not become a successful artist before death. Too many years taking art history classes reading about all the artists who died before they were “discovered”. Not having kids? I have nothing else when I die. When I die? My family history dies too. My husband and I were the last ones in both our families-and we decided to not have kids. Everything ends with us. So now-I work hard each day…to create and hope and work. No guarantees, just hope.

    Oh…and winter. It also sounds like winter blues.
    Take the family to NYCity! That will be an eye-opener!
    xox

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *