March 17, 2012

  • Go Green!

    Green is my favorite color (since black is actually a shade).  I will take ANY excuse to pour on the green… have you looked around my site, for example?  You’d laugh at our house – it’s FILLED with plants – there’s greenery everywhere.  Screw any ‘spiritual’ meaning behind it, it’s GREEN day!

    In preparation, Lydia and I painted our fingernails black with green shimmery shamrocks on top.  I baked green cupcakes.  We had green cake with white frosting and green sprinkles for breakfast… just for fun.  I also tinted their milk green and even my tea was green – literally!

        

    We’re listening to the Corrs this morning (Irish pop), and Owen will nap to Enya this afternoon.  Lydia’s making green lemonade for lunch.  We’re making green candied popcorn for our movie tonight… which isn’t gonna be Irish… it’s actually ‘Kit Kittredge – American Girl’, because it has to go back to the library on Monday… but that’s okay.  It has Chris O’Donnell on it… and I’ll count that as the movie’s slice of Irish!!  Mmm… green candied popcorn.  If you’re interested in the recipe, lemme get it for you:

    Green
        Candied
            Popcorn

                           by Skip to my Lou

    If you’d like activities to do, well, there’s always my (not so green) St. Patty’s Day lapbook, which we did last year.  We’ll probably revisit it this afternoon, just for the fun of it.

    Our weekend adventure has been bumped to tomorrow, when we go to GREENville (heehee!!) for a very special little outing… well, it’s kind of dear to my heart, anyhow, for reasons I’ll explain later, of course.  So tomorrow I’ll post last week’s adventure in pictures.  But for today, we’re gonna do as much green up as we can, and it’s a MAJOR work day around this place – I need to put snowpants and winter boots away, burn a BUNCH of boxes, and do some major freshening up around the house.  We’ll get outside and probably try to set the new steps in the front of the house this afternoon, too… when Brian’s home to help me haul them out of the back of the truck!  ((<< They’re white fiberglass over wood.  HEAVY… so he’s taken Rosie to work the past two days, since we didn’t have time to unload them, yet.))

    I wonder what Brian will think of my green moustache…

Comments (3)

  • I LOVE green! We didn’t go all Irish for St. Pat’s – we did the Scottish thing instead (I wore my Haggis t-shirt. :wink: ), but it was fun, all the same. Need to try the popcorn…….

  • It was SO HOT yesterday, I didn’t end up making the popcorn (and we didn’t watch the movie, either. We were out too late going and doing). Standing over a stove for half an hour? Any other March, yes. This March is HOTTTT!

  • We went to a pub for live music. Then spent the evening at home over filling ourselves with homemade corned beef and cabbage. And hey i listen to celtic music nearly every day so that wasnt new. Kids wanted to watch a “green” movie, but the only ones we could think of we not child friendly.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *