November 14, 2011

  • I’m Grateful For:

    • A fantastic play we got to see on Saturday.  We went up to the CC near our old house.  The drama and music instructors are both friends of mine from my thespian days, and the drama class has free plays for the public twice a year.  We went and saw ‘Old MacBeth had a Farm’… which was a parody on Shakespeare’s tragedy.  King Duncan was Colonel Dunkin’ (who, like Foghorn Leghorn said, “I say, son, I say…” before everything he spoke and was dressed like Colonel Sanders), and MacBeth kills him in order to take over the secret recipe chicken franchise.  (“I say, son, I say, y’stabbed me!”)  It stayed true to the original plot, but with witches wearing hi-top bobos (and a fourth who was a ditzy ‘good’ witch, ruining all their best spells… “Bubble, bubble, toil and trouble…” and then adds the last witch, “And a little pinch of pixie dust!”).  We laughed a lot.
    • My first ‘virtual’ baby shower.  The mommy-to-be is in Las Vegas and was at the shower via Skype.  I don’t have that kind of capability on my old dial-up PC, so it always floors me to see what people can do on their machines.  The food was amazing, the tea was wonderful and I got to see a good friend I don’t run into often in real life.  So it was nice.  ((I’ll blog about my mother later.  It wouldn’t fit in my grateful blog entry so well…))
    • Our Eyetz Chaim (Tree of Life) is up!!  Wha, it was a real trial getting it up this year, too.  Two half-working strands of lights and my Snowflake topper died, too.  Sheesh…!  But it’s beautiful.  I love having it up, reminding me of Messiah’s evergreen love for us, whiter than snow and glittering with drops of blood shed just for me… a gift unparalleled.
    • Last night Brian helped me pull apart the afghan I’d started for Isaac (picture link).  It wasn’t working for me… I didn’t like the color combination and the pattern wasn’t as nice as I’d hoped.  But I’ve started over, with a few changes… so maybe I can whip off another – better! – afghan this winter for him (should we be here!)  I may have to ask for this book (link) for X-mess.  I check it out of the library TOO much… made Lydia’s afghan (picture link) from it, as well!
    • 17 Cheshvan lands the same for Orthodox, Chassadic, and Karaites… and it’s today.  Mine was Saturday, but then I’m a little whack, you know.  Anyhow, Happy Great Flood Day!  ((grins!))  After today, I will no longer be updating the Elul Timeline.  This is the proverbial (and literal!) end of the ‘line’.  LoL!!
    • Giving up the free on-line pastel lessons.  Last night Brian and I sat down to go thru them and pick one that would work well for this week… and he said, “Y’know, I think it’s better that the kids don’t try to ‘copy’ someone else’s work… it’s nicer when it comes from their hearts.  So we’re gonna chalk the same way we watercolor painted last year – by reading a poetry selection and putting what we see in our mind’s eye on paper.  I’m happier about it already!
    • It’s MONDAY… that means it’s Singing Night!  We’re getting geared up for the X-mess concert, and the choreography may kill me, and neither Lydia nor I have actively pursued a costume (we have to be either a toy or an elf)… but I love the music.  AND…!  There are no ‘Jee-zus is born’ songs until the very end (at which point Lydia and I will slip off-stage and not participate).  So that works WONDERFULLY for us!
    • Our Shalom!Sesame videos.  We watched ‘Shabbat Shalom, Grover!” for Sabbath, and “Introducing Israel” last night.  I wish they had more narration and more Hebrew phrases, but it’s still a good introduction to Hebrew.  The thing that frustrates me is that they just take you places and don’t tell you what you’re looking at… or show foods and don’t tell what they are.  I want MORE (<< typical, isn’t it?!  Lol!)  But still – they’re quite good for little ones.  If you like Sesame Street!
    • This week I harrassed Xanga a little about my back button… we need to get that thing fixed.  It’s driving me about crazy.  Because I haven’t been able to scroll back in a LONG time.  And it used to work.  For years it worked.  That’s *kind of* a problem for me, btw.  So I e-mailed the Xanga gods, and hey – I’ll be really grateful when the buttons work, again, no?  ((grins))

Comments (5)

  • I agree with the….lack of actual TEACHING on the Shalom Sesame, but…I like it. You HEAR it, which is important, because it doesn’t pronounce like it’s spelled in English.

    And…I have an idea for you and the kids for Hanukkah, if you’ll let me. EuroTalk’s “Learn Hebrew” – I’m tempted to order for you anyway, but I figure it’d be nicer to get your permission. :lol: It’s NOT expensive – but my kids like it more than Rosetta Stone (too expensive for what you get, sorry…..:sigh:) It’ll help build on Shalom Sesame – and will work if your ‘puter is running Windows 2000/XP/Vista or newer, or Mac OSX 10.3.9 or newer. You need QuickTime 7 (or newer), and it runs off the CD, so it doesn’t take up much memory.

    You’ve given me SO MUCH…I can’t help but want to reciprocate! (Should we BE here for Hanukkah, of course. :wink: )

  • Thank you, but V… my computer rejects Quicktime. I’ve tried several times over the past five years (different versions) and it just won’t run. So the program would be no good for me. :shame:

  • Darn it! Glad I asked, then……can you do .mp3 files? I have those….hmm. You’d have to find somewhere that defined them for you, though…let me think about this a bit……

  • Yup, I do mp3 files, but I can’t upload them, myself. For example, I tried to do an audio file of ‘The Little Duke’ from (was it) Librovox(?)… it had 23 hours download time on my dial-up, and kept timing out. Soooo… yeah. Not fun. I don’t watch anything on YouTube bigger than 5 minutes long – because a five minute video takes three hours to load on my PC. :crosseye:

  • OK. So I can at least burn CDs/transfer them to a flash drive for you. I am trying to find something that will translate the words for you – the RS mp3s simply say the word, pronounce it slowly, and say it again. GREAT for getting it in your head, but if you don’t know what you’re saying, it’s not so good.

    At least I have a mission now…..:lol:

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *