March 24, 2013

  • Pesach Preparations

    PReFaCe:  A friend on FB linked me to Hebrew4Christians, where they told here there are 15 steps of the passover because Passover is on the 15th of the month, and this number and that number adds up to 15… and I directed them – and her – to Leviticus 23:5… which says Passover is the 14th day of the month, hello.  H4C deleted my comment.  Wouldn’t want Truth to get out.  As for my friend, the comment under mine was about a Seder they were going to on 11 Nissan.  I mourn.  Because no matter how much Truth I try to give people, the reject it for lies, and choose their way over His.  Even my friends.  I… don’t know what else I can say to you.  Except that I have done my best.  Your choice is ultimately yours.  And that I *BEG* you to please, please check scripture before even believing ‘Hebrews4Christians’… because if it doesn’t match the Bible, I don’t care WHAT it is, it’s not true.  (/PReFaCe)

    Well, Thursday (10 Nissan, Gen 12:3) we brought home our lamb,
           …and Friday/Saturday we saw in the last Shabbat before the redemption feast…
                  …and here we are, on Sunday – embarking on our leaven hunt

    I love this day, and hate it at the same time.  Love it, because it’s fun to go thru and take all of the bread, crackers, cookies and pastries out of the house.  Hate it because one must get REALLY creative when they have to go a week with no leaven.  Meals get interesting.  But even that is a kind of an adventure!

    And we should probably re-touch on the topic of how legalistic to be about this.  It says ‘do not eat any leaven’ in Leviticus 23:6.  In Exodus 12: 18-19 it says not only will you not eat it, but you will not have it in your home.  So we remove the leaven from our home (where we live) and make sure not to eat any leavening during the 7 days of Pesach… but I don’t go crazy and burn all the bread, freak out and vacuum behind the fridge in case there’s a crumb somewhere.  It’s obedience, not legalism.  At my house, everything gets taken out to the camper for a week… or put downstairs in the basement.  Because we don’t live in either of those places – they’re not the ‘home’.  That’s just how it works for us.

    I found a free printable placemat for the kids to color for our feast (HERE), and a seder clock, for them to follow along with when we have our feast (HERE).  I love both of them, and just had to share with you.  Something new for this year!

    I won’t be posting tomorrow… but if you’d like to read previous Pesach posts:

    I have to tell you… my friend V believes that we’ll be raptured during the spring feasts.  I can see some of the reason she would think so – Yehovah Elohim delivered Israel out of Egypt/the world on this day and Yeshua ben Yosef delivered mankind from their sins on this day… and so it would make sense that Yeshua ben David would deliver mankind from the Tribulation to come on this day.  I see that, and would NOT protest if it were true.  In fact, I think the timing is perfect – there are a lot of big changes going on, right now.  The Pope, Israel’s gov’t, etc… why not this, too?  I’m all for it.

    But in the meantime, I prepare for the feast.  It’s a time of prayer and putting my perspective in the right place, and so I wish you and yours the best for Pesach… and I’m gonna scoot along and be with my family.

    Have a blessed day!

Comments (7)

  • I really find your blog so interesting!  Thank you for all of your devotion to teaching and speaking for the benefit of others.  I must clairfy though because I would hate for you to be in “mourning” for no reason…. I am the person who posted the comment on facebook.  I was going to celebrate my first Sedar and I am still so excited and blessed that I was able to participate.  The clarification that I would make is that this Sedar was not in place of our own observance of Passover, it was an opportunity to learn the beautiful and rich ceremony before the actual event.  It was meant to be a learning opportunity sponsored through our Church and through El Shaddai Ministries.  My children and I will be celebrating in our home tomorrow evening.  We have been researching and preparing and continue to be lead through the Spirit and are so excited to have this experience together.  Thanks again! 

  • Thank you for whopping me – to get away from the church’s false teachings, I’ve dug into Jewish…and OI, are they as bad! Thank you for the reality check!

    The only thing I’m tossing are the frozen pancakes – they won’t last in the shop. The goats and chickens will enjoy them tomorrow, me reward us with eggs and milk.

    As for meals the next 8 days (should we be here :wink: ) – I’ll be doing a LOT of Mexican. Most tortillas are leaven-free. Also some 1-dish casseroles…not what we’re used to, but it’ll work. And…it’s a good excuse to skip the family Ishtar gathering…too much leavened stuff! :lol:

  • And another Thank You from me for those awesome printables! I am definitely saving that sedar mandala! And as usual I love hearing how you do the feasts, and it’s fun reading about years gone by also!

  • I’ve been wanting to tell you that many of us are tired of the snow.

    You said we wouldn’t have much snow.

    Your actual words were:

    <LI>What dusting of snow we’ve had is almost gone.
    <LI>I kept telling everyone we won’t be getting snow like we used to…
    <LI>((((nobody ever believes me.))))

    We’ve had tons of snow. You said we wouldn’t have snow.

  • Yup. That’s what I get for not thinking like Him as much as I should, eh? Look on the bright side, the other trolls can’t say that I claimed Yehovah told me there wouldn’t be snow. It’s pure me, and not prophecy. :crosseye:

    And I don’t know you, so I’d watch how bitchy you’re being, a’ight?

  • Nice googly eyes! I would say your forcast was perfect for my area – yay!
    What a bizarre comment there huh?
    I love this time of year because we tend to get weevils in our baking mixes and uh, yeah – no thank you. So it is a good time to toss it all.

    I can deal with rice and corn tortillas and home made matzah. Still so much to do though – today I buried two of the baby boy goats – boo.

  • It’s not bizarre, it’s a sad statement of humanity. Instead of focusing on the feasts and the holiness of Yehovah as we are to be preparing ourselves to come to the Passover Seder – and the re-visit of the Lord’s Supper, for pity’s sake! – we find some petty woman cut/pasting words in order to try to prove me fallible. Which… have I ever claimed to be anything BUT, hello? LoL!! :twitch:

    The irony of that is that not only am I fallible, but so is she. So is Elijah the prophet, and Enoch, and Moses, and Pope Frank. I love how these sad little people show up, haughty and confrontational, and hold me to a measure they fall so horrifically short of (in just opening their mouths), that it’s glaringly mournful.

    Does she honestly think that people given messages are infallible as people? Does she really believe that if a person is useful to the Lord in some small capacity (which… where is HER usefulness, in aligning her behavior patterns to that of Pharisees?), that the person who has been used is somehow free of all mistakes, sins, etc? What the heck kind of church do these people matriculate from??? :shame:

    The timing is impeccable. A real reassurance to me, because this is a time of reflection and hope: Pesach! What other time would a denizen of desolation and hopelessness show up to be used to try to voice dissention? It’s just a confirmation of the time, the sacredness… and the underlying current of fear that the enemy is so feebly grasping, and failing. And what a statement about the person with nary a single word of encouragement in her comments.
    ___________________________________________

    About your weevils… I put all mixes in airtight containers, anymore – even box mixes! It really saves the headache of cleaning out/tossing the food we buy. :thumbsup:

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *