February 27, 2013

  • Winter Wonderland

    This past weekend, I heard that a big snowstorm was going to hit Chicago on Tuesday.  That means that we get it on Wednesday, being just on the other side of the lake.  But y’know what?  It hit early.  And HARD.  And since I’m thinking I’m going to use what left of the week (now that’s I’m feeling slightly better… a shower this afternoon will REALLY help), and I’m going to work on pictures.  Here’s what I took of the snow this morning.

    View out Lydia’s window.
    It is THICK on the branches… and very, very heavy.


    Out by Brian’s barn, and the play yard.
    They go up like that another 20 feet.  It’s… wOw.


    Out the front window, to the drive/garden.
    That’s not a hosta, it’s one of my 8ft verbena bushes.
    The snow is so heavy, it collapsed it.  I’ve got some concerns!!

    I can’t tell if it’s coming down still, or not – there’s a steady stream of huge flakes descending, but it could be off the trees… I don’t know, though.  I almost think it’s still snowing.  It’s beautiful, I’ll give it that!  It’s like being back home in the Upper Penninsula (I grew up near Marquette).  Lower Michigan never gets THIS heavy, and my bushes have NEVER collapsed like that!

    Needless to say, there’s no public school in session in West Michigan.  Which means no dance class tonight – which is REALLY nice for me, because I’m better but not fully up-to-par, and wasn’t sure if I should a) stay home, b) go, and stay in the car, or c) just go and call myself over the contagious part.  Now I don’t have to worry – I can work on pictures, VACUUM (you have NO idea…), and bake something yummy… because nothing has smelled good around here in a few days, now, and that’s NOT how things roll in my home.  And of course the kids are SO excited about getting out today to play in this stuff. 

Comments (4)

  • It is beautiful! Now picture that as ice and you have our ice storm from two & three years ago. It’s no wonder the power lines were down. When the kids go out have Lydia gently sweep your shrubbery to get some of the snow off. Plants are more resilient than you’d think but the quicker it’s off the better it will be.

  • I’m not about to make Lydia do it… I’ll get it when we tend critters. And yes, I tend critters even with the flu. I just build up to it for about an hour, do what I have to do, and then come in and recover for about an hour. But I get it done. :kewl:

  • How Beautiful! I wish we got snow….but then I see photos like this (or the 19″ in Amarillo) and realize that, y’know….I can live without snow! :lol:

    Glad you’re feeling better!

  • I’m a bit like fiberaddict, I look at the pictures and have an overwhelming yearn for snow here but then think of the hassle and decide I don’t really want it. I’ll look at your pictures instead!!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *