October 14, 2012

  • Lego Quest!

    This summer, while in the throes of my Pinterest obsession, I stumbled across a fun and creative site.  It’s the 52-week work of a mom who wanted her LEGO-obsessed children to do something more with them.   So she devised a once-a-week challenge for her kids.  And I think that is one of the best ideas… because you can make SO MANY things out of LEGOs!!

    My family?  We’ve got LEGOs.  No, I mean it, we’ve got LEGOs.  As in, we’ve got wheels, people, movie/game characters, ships, castles, dinghys, motorcycles, winches, animals, plants, umbrellas, weapons… we’ve got one of those 5-drawer plastic storage bin towers FULL, plus two more big plastic bins, plus two drawer-sized divider caddies.  And that’s not including the Transformer LEGO tubs.  All in my dining room.  And everywhere else.  I kid you not, there are LEGOs in our shower.  Mostly my mom got them at yard sales, and then kind of donated them to us, and I’ve had to try to cope ever since.

    And LEGOs is a huge thing with the kids.  They play for hours with them.  Aaron (who’s decided he wants to own a car wash when he grows up) built a LEGO car wash for all the planes, tanks, boats, buses, and rockets everyone makes.  Like that.  Even Lydia is very much about LEGOs… and she’s a 12-year old girl.  You don’t mess with her set-up, man.  She gets testy.

    So anyhow, I thought it would be fun to take those fifty-two challenges from LEGO Quest and do one a week this year with the kids.  If you’re interested in the link to the list of LEGO quests, it’s here (LINK).  And no, I’m not going to do an individual post for each of them but I plan to put pictures up at the bottom of my Thursday posts, so you’ll get to see our challenge results every week!  (You’ll see.)

    NoTe:  I’ve drawn up a posting plan for this next school year.  On Sundays I’ll post our Charcoal n’ Cocoa art, on Mondays our SOTW project from the previous week… or an adventure post.   Tuesdays will be Patchworks or Bullets, Wednesdays are free days (I can fit what I want in them!), and my friend V inspired me to do Thursday Thankfuls, which will include my weigh-in AND our LEGO Quest pictures.  Fridays are free (again), and Saturdays will be ‘Shabbat Shalom’s… meaning no posts.  I reserve the right to ditch this and do whatever the heck I want at any time, though!  ((LoL!!))

    HOWEVER, since I don’t have a Charcoal n’ Cocoa post for today (as school doesn’t start until tomorrow), I’m taking a moment to explain what I’m gonna do, and feature our first creations! 

    Week One: CARS. 
    Make something that has wheels and can go. 
    Be as creative and elaborate as you’d like, but do a good job!

     
    Isaac made this for Baby Owen.
    It’s sturdy enough to hold up to the 2-year old.
    You can’t see, but Draco Malfoy is this puppy’s driver.


    Ethan opted for a simple, straightforward car.
    With all the steering wheels we have on hand, though,
    I’m wondering why his car doesn’t have one, yet has a spare tire?


    Isaac named his ‘Heat Streak’, and it’s apparently weaponized.
    Very, very, VERY weaponized.  And has its own Chinese kitchen.


    Lydia made a quadruple-decker bus.
    She says unlike Harry Potter’s infamous “Night Bus”,
    this is the new and improved “Day Bus”. 
    If Isaac’s has a Chinese Kitchen,
    Lydia’s has the whole rest of the house.  Ciao!


    My car is very Future-Meets-Past, classic buggy but modern cool,
    with Volkswagon-esque safety features.  Vroom, vroom, baby!


    Squat car.  I mean, um, squad car.  Yeah.
    ((Homigosh, those fang teeth are distracting!!!!))
    Lydia helped him… and apparently she was all large-sized out
    after her Winnebago-slash-Best-Western-On-Wheels.

    So there’s our first LEGO Quest challenge. 
    And they loved it, so there will be more.!!

Comments (2)

  • Cool! Ian is back into Legos – thankfully. We’ve got…tons. And a Lego store within an hour’s drive. I like this idea…I may use it. Thanks!

  • Ahhh Danny and Isaac – yeah everything Danny makes has at least 6 weapons for each passenger it can carry.

    I think Ethan’s works like a segway – intuitive!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *