September 27, 2012

  • Tids N’ Tads

    G’MORNING.  Well… shoot.  We’re still here.  That was NOT supposed to happen!  I hate it when I wake up the day after Yom Kippur and we’re still here, dadgummit!!!  But technically, the SMS period is July 1 thru December 31st, 2012… so there’s still time.  And several more ‘less likely, but possible’ days.  Starting with Monday – Sukkot!  And the seven days of Sukkot, and Eighth Day (Simchat Torah), and then Chanukkah.  which is eight nights, so… that’s sixteen possible dates between now and the end of the year.  And it’s not like I’ve EVER been known to toss my faith just because the Lord tarries.  ((What is His problem?!?!??!  Doesn’t He know I’m JONESING down here, hello!!))  Just kidding.

    MESSING WITH MY MIND.  As I was going thru stuff reading yesterday, I found a print-out of this old blog of mine (‘Hanukkah and the Rapture’ – LINK).  And I thought… ‘Not now, it’s Yom Kippur, for Pete’s sake!!”  And so I pulled out my blue notebook (it’s THE blue notebook, to you)… and of COURSE I found this:


    Click to enlarge.

    Of course it’s from several years ago (who even KNOWS when, now), but apparently my friend ‘V’ has always held the belief that the rapture isn’t Yom Kippur, it’s Sukkot.  Which… y’know what?  I don’t CARE.  I don’t CARE what day or what hour He freakin’ comes, just come, dagnabbit all!   There’s NOTHING left in Revelation to fill the gap, We. Are. There., I don’t like the suspense of it all, it’s DRIVING me CRAZY, and enough is enough.  It’s just so utterly FRUSTRATING!!!!!!!!!  ((pant, pant, pant.)) 

    OKAY.  Nevermind.  Whatever.  I can wait.  I have to wait.  I hate waiting.  The whole thing sucks.  No wonder the world thinks the Jews are problematic.  I can SEE why they think Jews are problematic.  The whole bloody THING is problematic.  So… next, Sukkot, and then Simchat Torah and then Chanukkah… and I’ll be watching, waiting, counting, faithful, hoping, and jonesing.  Because that’s what I do.  ((through gritted teeth trying to smile.))  And I think He’s enjoying every minute of this too much.  I must be SO entertaining.  Hell, nobody else is quite so… passionate about seeing Him…


    BLESSING OF THE BUGLIES.
      And as if THAT wasn’t bad enough, I got a weird flu bug yesterday, and was illin’ over the feast/fast.  I thought maybe I was just purging during the fast – in prep for something WONDERFUL…  (Yeah.  That didn’t happen.  Your call, Lord, but I can still think it sucks.)… but I woke up this morning to THE most *V.i.L.e* smelling house in the history of… ever.  I thought maybe Baby O filled his diaper (he was squatting in the hall, he likes to hide-n-squat), but it wasn’t him.  Nooooo… it was the 7-year old who defiled my entire existence with… you don’t even wanna know.  His bedding, his PILLOW, his clothes, his skin… we had a major wash-down and extreme opening of windows/lighting of candles this morning to try to cleanse.  Tell me again, WHY do I clean during Elul?  ((Your sense of humor isn’t in keeping with mine, Lord…))  I’m better today (and so is Ethan), but my tummy is still ‘fluttery’, so I’m betting his is, too, and my washing machine has got to be dry heaving.  S’probably a good thing we didn’t eat much yesterday. (I fasted, he chose to do crackers/cheese and water.)

    TRUCKING ALONG!  We bought a new truck the day before Yom Kippur!  I know, I didn’t say anything, but I was pretty peeved about it.  Mostly because I thought the timing rude.  Y’don’t go out an get a dadgum LOAN the day before you’re planning to exit the planet, hello, BRIAN.  But since we’re still here, the truck is ours, and the Hub is in his own level (sub-par, IMHO) of Heaven, and the world is right.  For him anyhow.  He’s given our old truck’s topper to a buddy as of 7am this morning, and we’ll be selling the old truck to someone who doesn’t mind a pile of crap.  And yeah… I admit it *was* time for a new truck.  Especially after someone at the campground backed into the driver door in a hit-n-run and the window doesn’t work anymore, and you can’t hear the person next to you over the wind noise.  But the truck isn’t worth fixing for us.  Not when we got the $$ from the stolen trailer to put towards a new one.

    WHEN FRIENDS FORSAKE ME…  I lost a friend the day before Yom Kippur, too.  ((Note: That was NOT the best day I’ve ever had… increased the fervor of my prayers for a divine exit post-y haste-y.))  I posted a homeschool thing on FB, she got mad because she doesn’t homeschool and she claimed it as an attack on her personally (??) and lifted her skirts and flounced out of my life.  After twelve years… just so’s ya know this wasn’t a flippant thing.  Well… it had been building for a while, but I think she was looking for a reason to ditch me.  Her reason was that she can’t be friends who… wait, how’d she put it?  “ I wouldn’t be friends with someone in real life that said such offensive things about me and how I choose to live my life. So I am not going to do it online, either.”  Except that it was a PICTURE shared from another source not directed at anyone… and anyhow, do you have ANY idea how boring it would be if you were only friends with people who thought/lived exactly like you?  I’m serious – I have FB friends that are homosexual, democrats, Catholics, and freakin’ like CATS, for pity’s sakes.  It makes life more vibrant.  I’m… bummed.  But I guess that’s her choice.  OTOH, after she unfriended, a lot of people who don’t comment to me often came to share their stories, and it’s been an interesting conversation, since, so… mixed blessings?

    DOIN’ THE SALSA!  The past two weeks, you didn’t know it, but we have been washing, chopping, dicing, mixing, boiling, and canning TONS of salsa.  Last year’s salsa sucked bad, and we ended up buying salsa to mix it with to try to help it (which kind of defeats the purpose).  So this year I found a recipe that doesn’t have vinegar in it – which I think was the problem.  And WoW, it tastes SO MUCH better!!  I just hope the lime juice is a good enough preservative, like the recipe said.  Cuz I’ve never tried it before.  But we’re up to our eyebrows in Roma tomatoes over here… and I think I’m going to try tomato sauce, this next week…

    DEVARIM!  Did you know that ‘Devarim’ is the Hebrew word for ‘Deuteronomy’?  It is.  And did you know that christians fricked up the Bible by even NAMING that book Deuteronomy… because it means the ‘Second law’… when actually there’s only ONE law, and Deuteronomy is just a last sermon by Moses repeating the first law to the new generation of Israelites before they move to take the Promised Land?  I didn’t either, until I started Torah Class Deuteronomy this week.  Yup… I finally dusted off Numbers and finished it up, and moved on.  And may I just say that so far (and I’m only 5 chapters in) it is AMAZING?!  Because it is.  And I HIGHLY recommend Torah Class lessons to everyone.   You can read them on-line, listen to them, or print them off and mark the bejeezers out of them like I do.  They’re found here:  http://torahclass.com/old-testament-studies.  They’re the ONLY studies I recommend to anyone.  Forget that Beth Moore BS… THIS is real learning.  Real Truth.

    CARAMEL APPLE CAKE.  Doesn’t that sound good?  And my house stinks so bad, that when I got on-line today and saw the recipe HERE, I decided to make TWO of them today: one for us, one for Brian to take to work.  It’ll make it smell SOOOO much better in here, and taste good.  Even if the woman posting it used the word ‘yummy’.  ((<< Anna hates when grown people use the word ‘yummy’.  It rankles.  Like pictures of cats.  Pah!))

    JUST A TAD FEISTY.  Have you noticed?  I am.  Probably because I’m irritated that a) I’m still here, b) my house stinks, c) I hadda wear white for 24 hours, and I’m SOOO not a white person, d) people keep posting pics of cats in my FB feed, and e) I’m coming off sick n’ miserable and have energy to burn.  I should do something.  Wait, this *IS* doing something.  Anyhoooo… yeah.  Okay, that’s it from me for the day!

Comments (9)

  • First I have to say that I freakin’ LOVE your handwriting and I’m so jealous that mine isn’t that pretty even when I slow down to write nicely. LOL

    And….I’m sorry about your friend on FB. It sucks that the conversation went that route. I do think it would be exceptionally boring to only be around those who always agree with you. Where’s the individuality in that? And if everyone agreed all the time, no one would ever learn anything or really even have much to talk about. “I like tomatoes.”…..”Yes, so do I.” uh….yeah boring.

    I love the Torah Class series. I used to turn it on to listen to while doing housework. I let it fall by the wayside in favor of a shorter series that came in my email but I think I learned WAY more from Torah Class. I did manage to keep up with the weekly reading schedule on jewfaq.org, though, so I was proud of myself. lol When Torah Class says it’s “an in-depth study” it really means it.

    Your caramel apple cake sounds wonderful! I’m going to have to try it sometime. Yesterday I made a lemon icebox cake, one for us and one for our neighbors. They are always bringing stuff down to share with us. Last time it was homemade donuts. (YUMMY! Sorry, I just couldn’t resist! Now let me go find a picture of a cat……LOL)

    Go ahead, be feisty. That also keeps things interesting. If you’d like, you can vent some feisty and I’ll find something mundane to argue with you about. It won’t help with your extra physical energy, that’s what you have Brian for…… :wry:

  • Could you post your recipe for salsa somewhere? I could not get my Dad’s (awesome) so got one with 5 stars & vinegar… :ssad:…comments said it tastes better after a few weeks but no. The lime juice doesn’t preserve it, it only helps to increase the acidity of the tomatoes & add flavor. The acid in the tomatoes is what makes it possible to water bath can your tomato products, the canning is what preserves the food. BUT if you add too many peppers, onions and other goodies you would have to pressure can. I’m not thrilled with pressure canning but it’s on my list because canned meat is cooked meat & if necessary can be eaten out of the jar cold. If necessary cause of the “10 minute boil” rule.

  • This is the one I used:

    http://www.ehow.com/how_4501962_make-canning__-salsa-recipe-ever.html

    Only I’m one of those really NOT precise people. I throw in garlic and throw in salt, and throw in cumin, then stir, and just that much water, and stir, and then squirt a few squirts of lime and stir… like that. :crosseye: I always cook that way, and rarely has it not turned out.

  • Oh, and hey, wanna laugh? So I’m laying on the sofa, tummy just rolling, and thinking ‘I’ve been praying for the Lord to take me NOW… oh, shit. I’m dying. He gave me a superflu and I’ll dehydrate and be gone by morning, and my husband will be widowed and my kids motherless because I didn’t specify RAPTURE. But He knows rapture. He ought to know by now RAPTURE. It’s not DEATH I’m going this nuts about, hello, RAPURE!!!!!’

    Some feasts are tougher than others… :lol:

  • :hugs: Hon, you KNOW I believe, and you know how much I want you to be right about the Rapture. But….I am also “keeping my options open”. I don’t want to be here…..but IF this is like the Plagues, then we’ll be protected. I WANT to go Home……but if He wants us here……we’ll be OK.

    I just don’t want you to spend a lot of energy being stressed over this, y’know? I don’t know WHY we are here…maybe there’s a few lost sheep that are on the brink of …….belief? Conversion? that He is tarrying over.

    And I’m giggling over your notebook!

  • I love cats..I love every kind of cat…I just wanna hug all of them ..but I can’t!

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vvXSpg9uuf4

    Sorry I will never post a cat picture again.

    Or I will post it and make it invisable to you ‘kay?

    ♥ ya!

  • Pondering of the day: is a friend really a friend, if a friend acts like that? Just saying.

    Hope you feel better okay? Get plenty of rest. Everyone in the house is sick with that tummy thing, it’s terrible.

  • Oh boy.. I am guilty on two counts. I posted a pic of my daughter’s cat that broke through our screen one night. My daughter begged me to make a poster and post it. Second, I know I said something was yummy… Oops..

    I also love your handwriting and hate having to wait. The salsa sounds great!

  • Actually, LMR, I posted pics of a bleached tiger, so… it’s all in good pun.

    But V, I gotta tell ya: The reason that I get so worked up is because He *WANTS* us to get worked up. Remember David ben Jesse? Dude who wrote Psalms? Mr. Oh-God-My-Heart-Panteth-for-Thee? And “Why-dost-Mine-Enemies-Surround-Me, Woe!” He’s the one Yehovah said was dearest to His heart. He LIKES the passion. He made us passionate. If I don’t passionately desire Him, I’m a drag like the rest of humanity. Screw that! I got passion, and I’m not afraid to show it (show it, show it)… I’m freaky and I know it! :lol:

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *