January 22, 2012

  • Chalk & Children

      Remember when I said that I had found a cat poem, but Brian wouldn’t do it, because he knows I hate cats, and he was trying to be noble and chivalrous and such?  Well, I talked him into it this week!  WooT!


    Fog  
    Carl Sandburg 1878-1967
    from Chicago Poems, 1918

    The fog

    comes 
    on little
    cat feet.


    It sits
    looking
    over harbor
    and city
    on

    silent  
    haunches
    and then

    moves
    on.


    NoTe:  The imagery is great.  The poem… is way the heck too short for a good post, and rather ticks me off.  Gotta stretch it out for a room to put pictures up here!  Figures THAT persnickety one would be the one about a cat.  *Feh!*  But still…  fog and chalk is a kewl idea, since chalk is so easy to smudge, blur, and smear.  Brian says his got too dark for what he wanted, but I kinda like it.   Ethan’s fog-colored cat is overlooking the water, while Isaac discarded the whole feline metaphor and went just for a harbor.  Lydia, also ditching the city, opted for a cat on a dock… very nice winter imagery, I might add!   I… am WAY the heck too ambitious, getting frustrated when my results aren’t quite what I had in mind, and that’s ALL that needs to be said about that.

Comments (2)

  • OOOooohh – I like these! Very nice!

  • Alidansma: I tried to comment on xanga – but after three tries – I felt frustrated – so I will post my comment here… Aww your picture is of a kitty with a big ole hole in her head. Just the way you like them! just kidding – couldn’t help it. Maybe it is an artistic representation of the lack of intelligence you find innate to felines?

    Facinating. actually I really like your picture alot – I just had to tease you – that is my secret way of saying I wuv you. :vvv:

    AnnaMarie: ROFL!!! That’s so funny!! Yeah… okay, so I didn’t analyze it enough to see it, so thanks!! :rofl:

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *