January 20, 2012

  • My Perspective on the World

    The other day I was reading a blog called ‘A Jewish Homeschool’, and there was an activity that I really liked.  It was called ‘Me in my World’… and when I saw it, I wanted to do it.  However, me being me, I had to ‘clean it up a little’… and re-vamp it before we could do it.

    See, I have this problem – I don’t like throwing useful things away.  A place for everything and everything in its place is my motto.  And this is why I don’t like ‘loose’ projects, like models.  Because inevitably they get shoved off the counter, kicked in the path of Baby O, who chews/rips/pulls it apart, and there goes the project.  And yes, I could take pictures, but… I’ve got enough pictures, already, to keep track of!  Art worth saving goes in the portfolio.  Cards and gifts made for me go in my special drawer in the bedroom.  Lydia has her stuff in her room, and the boys each have a big treasure trunk for their special things.  But the stuff that can help them in school needs to be able to fit in SOMEWHERE.

    And the booklet on a metal ring?  Not gonna fit anywhere in my house.  Besides, I didn’t like the pictures she used, and it was pretty involved, with the cutting and coloring and gluing… quicker and simpler is better for us… there’s just too much other school to fit in along with projects.  I made a template for it:

    Oops, it isn’t a lapbook, but my button says that,
    so… you’ll live.  *blush!*


    It’s a flapbook, actually, and yes,
    I erased our address and county from the picture.
    I like my privacy a slight bit, y’know.

    Anyhow, this is now a page in our Nature Notebooks, in the front of the Astronomy section (which, someday, I will show some of the other projects in there… you might like ‘em.)


    They can be colored, or just left as-is.

    As always, click to enlarge… but you knew that.

    And the two fun ones.  I put two maps on the County page – one of the state so we can color where the county we live in is, and then one of the county, so we can ‘x’ mark the spot where we are.  We don’t live in a town (we’re out in the country) and I don’t affiliate with the nearest municipality (the armpit of the world, topped in stOOpidity only by the town 5 miles to the north, where Brian grew up, which is like a re-creation of Hell on earth).  But if you want to add a city/town/village flap, more power to ya.

    The address flap I showed, because I thought you’d like to see how my landscaping has come.  Five years since we built this place from literally nothing, and I think it’s lookin’ pretty good, don’t you?

    Anyhow, it’s a great tool for showing kids how they ‘fit’ in the grand scheme of the universe.  ((I also added at the bottom of the page a picture of the Milky Way as our galaxy, but it didn’t get it’s own flap.  You could do that, too, if you wanted.  S’why I download all my files to word… you can change it to suit that way, whereas .pdf files can’t be altered!))

    Putting it together:  Cut out the squares, then fold the ‘My Perspective’ flap backwards and turn the stack upside down and tap it against the table to get everything lined up.  Then fold the flap back to it’s right position, and staple the flaps in place.  It’s just that easy!

    Thanks to ‘A Jewish Homeschool’ for the idea!

Comments (4)

  • I like that! It does put things into perspective!

    And I envy your landscaping – we’ve been here since 2003, and….well, I’ve been focused on the critters instead of the landscape. We’re done with them, though – we have the barns, and fences (need to re-do those, but that’s a never-ending job); I think, maybe, this is the year to work on the yard. Maybe. :sigh:

  • I do NOTHING to the landscape, anymore. It just grows and grows. It’s wonderful… hostan and daylilies in the first tier, astilbe, azalea and boxwood (and a cherry tree) in the second row, with coneflowers to fill in. I don’t even weed – there are snakes living in those flowerbeds!! :eek:

  • Throw in some moss rose seeds for bare spots or places that need really low flowers. They self sow very easily and do well with hot & dry if necessary. They were a favorite of my mom – who also hated snakes with a passion. One of the funniest memories I have is her reaction to seeing a snake in the yard. :) Still makes me smile cause I didn’t know my mom & the things in her hands could go so many different directions!

  • I’m more like an Irish Setter. I turn red, go stock still, and point. Scream is optional. But someone MUST kill it.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *