November 25, 2012

  • Hanukkah’s A’Coming!
    (Part II:  The Gift of Garland… for you.)

    So I told you that I was looking for decorations for Hanukkah.  That I was searching Etsy and Pinterest for ideas.  I found a good number of fun things, pretty things… but some of them are SO expensive!!  There were Star of David garland that were only $3.50… but shipping was $14.  What. Is. That?  I was annoyed.  It wasn’t even that pretty.

    There were garlands made out of popsicle sticks that looked like they’d split in the making and not live thru many seasons.  And then I found this:

    It’s made by SuzySentiments, and I thought the idea was so nice!  A little stark, but not bad!  So I thought about it… I’m good at hand lettering, but I’m not sure if I’d want to, and then what about the background?  A stamp?  Maybe… but then I thought, what if I find a nice snowflake clipart free on-line, put it in Word, then use WordArt to make the letters?  I could just print everything, and string it together from there.

    I decided to do one that says ‘Happy * Hanukkah’, and then another one that says ‘Light of the World’.  I included snowflakes to separate the words, and a letter ‘C’ for those who prefer the alternate spelling.  But they’re EASY to do up.  Simply print them on white cardstock, mount on colored paper for some punch if you choose, and string them with a hole puncher and ribbon, and it’s done.  And I can even laminate it for longer lasting decorations.

    Anyhow, I saved/uploaded the files I made,
    so anyone who would like them, is welcome to print them:

    Happy Hanukkah Garland
    Light of the World Garland



      

Comments (1)

  • ohh if you got out your embosser (you still have one of those?) you could emboss little stars or snowflakes. or blue sparkly…polka dots (?)

    We are not decorating yet. or shopping. I was so blown away by the T-day miricle of my dd coming over to eat with us AND enjoying the food AND watching football with my husband AND taking Todd’s side in an arguement about female commentaters in the men’s locker room….I have been in shock for a few days. ((o.O)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *