February 3, 2013

  • I’m Grateful For:

    • Four straight days of snow.  That thaw from last week?  Holy yuck.  I love the billowing white, the frozen critter pens, and the pretty view.  The kids are all shades of excited – they’re building a fort this afternoon, again, and Daddy’s home to shovel some serious stuff up for walls.
    • The sled-dog presentation we saw yesterday.  It was SO well done.  Apparently one of the guys who started the Iditarod, his son lives about an hour from us, and he does really fun little events here and there, teaching the kids about mushers and the races.  We got to pet the great-great-great-great grandchildren of Balto (his dogs are all descended from the famous sled dog!).  It was fun.  And free – a library event in GR.  Can’t beat that!
    • Being outside of the moving process my family is doing right now.  They sold their house this week, and want to move to the country.  Moving (at all) is NOT fun… and they don’t have things set up as to what they’re going to do.  I am SO grateful not to have to be in that position.  I’m pretty sure we’re exactly where we’re supposed to be, for a while!
    • Having the willpower NOT to get on the scale this week.  I just DON’T wanna know.  And trust me, it wouldn’t be good news, anyhow.  The problem is winter.  I don’t get cabin fever like other people – I’m a total homebody who likes cuddling up with soft music, candles or dim lamps, a good book, a warm afghan, and a cuppa cocoa.  Maybe cookies.  ((This week it was DEFINITELY cookies.  And cake.))  That sounds so comfortable and cozy and warm, but it does NOT lend itself to weight loss, FYI.  Which… I wish I cared more, but at this point…  (insert impish grin)
    • My friend Missy bought me a book on Amazon.  I can’t even imagine what possessed her to do such a thing!  It took me totally by surprise.  Missy is my reading buddy – we recommend stuff to each other, because we both like EVERYTHING – western, suspense, dystopia, fantasy, silly, mystery… anyhow, she’d finished a Debbie Macomber book, and I mentioned that I was waiting for the local library to get this specific one by her – they were in process of buying two copies, and I wanted to read it.  And the next thing I knew, she sent me a ‘gift’ of the book for my Kindle.  Thank you!!
    • Giving up auditions for the sled dog show.  I had a conundrum this weekend – the sled dog thing was at the same time as the auditions for a show I wanted to try out for.  And it was a stOOpid situation – typically, library events are given at two or three libraries on different days, but not this time – it was a one-time shot.  And my old theatre group always had two audition times, but not this new group – it was also a one-time show, and BOTH things were at 10:30 yesterday.  Obviously I couldn’t do both.  So I gave up the auditions.  And I’m kind of glad.  I’m not at the place right now where I want to be gone every evening… I just didn’t realize it, because I thought that I really wanted to do this show.  So the sled-dog thing was a blessing in disguise… or would it be a rescue in disguise?
    • Ellen.  I never thought I’d say it, but we LOVE watching clips from ‘Ellen’ on YouTube.  The Gangham style mom/son?  That was hilarious.  And the drive-thru dude who dresses as the seat of his car?  And she tortures celebrities – I must have a weird sense of humor, because I *LOVE* that.  We laugh so much at her stuff.  It’s all Purcells’ fault – she got me watching the Gladys episodes in November, and I laughed so hard, I cried.  We just kept looking for more and more after that.  Too fun!
    • A good shopping trip today.  We needed a few things, and found a few more that were on clearance and even better.  We took the kids for Pizza Hut for a treat, and dropped Brian’s truck off (it gets fixed, this week).  But we had a nice morning out.

Comments (2)

  • I always :vvv: your grateful post. This ones even cooler because I’m in it! :p LOL!!

  • I’m right there with you with the cake and cookies! We went strawberry picking yesterday and the first thing I wanted to do today was bake a yellow cake and shovel strawberries all over it. That’s kinda good riiiight. LOL

    And yayy for Kindle books. I have very weird reading tastes though so no one likes my sci-fi and whacky science tech books. Oh well.

    I loved the first few seasons of the Ghost Whisperer. After that, it just got weirder and weirder. :twitch:

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *